And the winners are...

Cross-reference: picture is available at:


Munich (ots) - This year's prestigious CORINE will be awarded to eight well-known authors at a major TV gala hosted by Désirée Nosbusch at the Munich Cuvilliés Theatre on November 6th, 2002.

Brazilian writer Paul Coelho will receive the Best Fiction CORINE for his bestseller "O Alquimista" (Published by Diogenes, Zurich/ Switzerland). UN Special Envoy Waris Dirie will receive the Best Non-fiction CORINE for her second novel, "Desert Dawn" (Blanvalet, Munich/ Germany). The Best Illustrated Non-fiction CORINE goes to French nature documentary filmmaker Jacques Perrin ("Le Peuple Migrateur", Gerstenberg, Hildesheim/ Germany), while the late Astrid Lindgren will be awarded a posthumous Best Children's and Adolescents' Literature CORINE for her life's work (Oetinger, Hamburg/ Germany).

There will also be three special sponsors' awards: Bonn-based social scientist Prof. Meinhard Miegel will receive the HypoVereinsbank Best Economics Book CORINE (awarded in association with the Financial Times Germany) for "Die deformierte Gesellschaft" (Propylaeen, Hamburg & Munich/ Germany), bestselling author Barbara Wood will receive the Weltbild Readers' Award for her novel "Sacred Ground" (Krueger, Frankfurt am Main, Germany), and Sven Regener will receive the Rolf Heyne Best Debut Novel Award for "Herr Lehmann" (Eichborn, Frankfurt am Main/ Germany). The Bavarian State Premier's Honorary Award Dr. Edmund Stoiber will be given to Siegfried Lenz for his life's work (Hoffman und Campe, Hamburg/ Germany).

The CORINE award was created by the Association of Bavarian Publishers and Booksellers to honour outstanding literary achievement and great success with the reading public.

The ceremony will be broadcasted nationwide in Germany by Bavarian Television at 8:15pm on Saturday, November 9th, 2002 (It will be repeated on 3Sat at 11:25am on November 10th and 1:45am on November 15th, 2002).

ots Original Text Service: Corine

Internet: http://www.presseportal.de


Geschaeftsstelle Internationaler Buchpreis,

Thalkirchner Straße 288,

81371 Munich,

Telefon: +49 (0)89 41 91 99 49,

Fax: +49 (0)89 41 99 97 89,

eMail: margrit.philipp@t-online.de