New 7 Wonders of the World campaign announces the 21 finalist candidates

Zürich/Switzerland, 1 January 2006. The Chairman of a panel of leading architectural experts has announced the 21 world�'s landmark sites which will take part in the final stage of the race to become one of the New 7 Wonders of the World.

The official New7 Wonders finalist candidates are:

01 Acropolis, Athens, Greece

02 Alhambra, Granada, Spain

03 Angkor, Cambodia

04 Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico

05 Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

06 Colosseum, Rome, Italy

07 Easter Island Statues, Chile

08 Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

09 Great Wall, China

10 Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey

11 Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan

12 Kremlin, Moscow, Russia

13 Machu Picchu, Peru

14 Neuschwanstein Castle, Füssen, Germany

15 Petra, Jordan

16 Pyramids of Giza, Egypt

17 Statue of Liberty, New York, USA

18 Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom

19 Sydney Opera House, Australia

20 Taj Mahal, Agra, India

21 Timbuktu, Mali

The international telephone voting numbers are:

+372 7070271

+372 54111732

+44 870 062 3748

These 21 finalist candidate sites go forward for a final year of public voting via the internet, live events and an international television series produced by the world's n.1 television company Endemol.

On 1 January 2007, the Official Declaration of the New 7 Wonders of the World will take place during a live globally televised event.

Chaired by the former Director General of UNESCO, Prof. Dr. Federico Mayor from Spain, the New7Wonders Panel of Experts is made up of leading international architects: Zaha Hadid(United Kingdom), Tadao Ando(Japan), Cesar Pelli(USA), Yung Ho Chang(China), Harry Seidler(Australia) and Aziz Tayob(South Africa).

The New 7 Wonders of the World campaign was launched in 2000, and is already the world's first and largest global voting campaign. Please visit www.new7wonders.com for more information.